| Login

From left to right, NCACC officers Angelena Kearney-Dunlap, Jeanette Deese, Debby Gore and Ann Clark. (Photos courtesy Marcia Wilson/Kristen King)

Brunswick's Gore takes helm of county clerks association

Brunswick County's Debby Gore knows she has some big shoes to fill as the new president of the North Carolina Association of County Clerks.


From left to right, Craven County Commissioners Renée Sisk and Lee Kyle Allen, Chairman Perry Morris, Clerk to the Board Gwen Bryan, County Manager Harold Blizzard, Commissioner Theron McCabe, and Bryan's daughter Adaï.

Caldwell County Clerk Kathy Myers, now past president of the NCACC (yes, there are two of them), completed an ambitious and productive year as leader of the Association at the group's Annual Conference, held in mid-April in Rowan County. Her work, according to Gore, included revisions of the Association's bylaws and handbook.

Gore said before taking the reins as president of the Association, she saw to it that Myers received a much-needed neck massage. The clerks association has enjoyed a close relationship with the N.C. Association of County Commissioners as an affiliate organization since 1981.

Gore said she is relying on her support staff, which includes Deputy Clerk to the Board Margie Stephenson and a "loaner" from the Building Inspections Department, to make it possible to pull off double duty as clerk to the Brunswick County Board of Commissioners and as clerks association president.

"It's going to be a challenge but I think I can handle it," Gore said. "With both of them it's going to make it easier."

Gore said one of her initiatives is to increase membership and involvement beyond an already "great group." The Association is planning three regional meetings for the fall – Oct. 1 in Hoke County, Oct. 22 in Johnston County and Sept. 24 in Burke County.


The NCACC’s Ed Wooters administers the oath of office to Board of Directors members Marcia Wilson (Wayne County), Gaynell Lee (Lee County), Kristen King (Franklin County) and Carolyn Athey (Rowan County). Not pictured: Effie Varitimidis (Guilford County).

Another goal is to work with the N.C. Association of County Commissioners on an updated version of the Clerks Reference Guide.

"Kathy told me the best part of the job would be going to the regionals and seeing more of the state," Gore said. "It's something you only do once, so I'm going to make it fun."

In addition to Gore, the other officers are Vice President Jeanette Deese (Carteret County), Secretary Ann Clark (Ashe), Treasurer Angelena Kearney-Dunlap (Warren) and Past President Myers. The Board of Directors consists of Carolyn Athey (Rowan), Kristen King (Franklin), Gaynell Lee (Lee County), Effie Varitimidis (Guilford) and Marcia Wilson (Wayne).

Also at the Annual Conference, Craven County Clerk to the Board Gwen Bryan was presented with the Howard Holly Outstanding Clerk Award. Bryan, who has served as Craven's clerk since 1993, thanked her Board of Commissioners and her management team for allowing her the opportunity to pursue her educational goals and to remain active with the clerks association.

"It means a lot to be recognized by your colleagues," she said. "It's quite an honor. It's not something I take very lightly. There is quite an effort that goes on in attaining some of the certifications."

Wake County will host the 2011 N.C. Association of County Clerks Annual Conference on April 7-10 at the Crabtree Marriott.

Pamela McLain Receives Order of the Long Leaf Pine
Copyright 2010 by North Carolina Association of County Clerks    |    Terms of Use    |    Privacy Statement
NC Seal